What happens when I cancel my subscription/my paid time runs out?

When you cancel your recurring PayPal subscription to your site, a couple things will happen:

  1. You will receive an email from PayPal confirming that the subscription was cancelled;
  2. Your site will be flagged as Cancelled on the Admin Menu -> Billing -> PayPal Info area;
  3. If your subscription had a linked voice server, that server will be flagged as requiring payment to stay active past the subscription date;
  4. Your site will use whatever paid time remains on the subscription until its rebill date.  (This basically means you will not lose any paid time on a subscription if it is cancelled - you have already paid for the service, you are just opting out of further payments!)
One the subscription is cancelled, you will not be billed again for that subscription - we cannot manually reactivate it on our end, and if you choose to resubscribe at a later date, it will be an entirely new subscription with whatever rates are available at that time. 

You do not lose any paid time that was already paid from the subscription - any payments you've made before the cancellation still apply (so if you paid for a yearly subscription and cancelled after nine months, you will still have three months of service left on the site).  Once that paid time is over, your site reverts back to an ad-supported version.

It doesn’t get deleted because you cancelled your subscription, either; it just goes back to the free-to-use version

Feedback and Knowledge Base